Seventeen new communities in Alaska, Nevada, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, West Virgina, and Wisconsin are the next locations to be included in the Biden-Harris administration’s Rural Partners Network, a 2022 initiative to ensure rural communities can benefit from federal resources.

The Rural Partners Network was launched in April of this year and began with 14 communities in Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, New Mexico and Native American communities in Arizona. The network places coordinators in the designated communities to work across branches of the US government to help these communities navigate the web of federal opportunities.

The human capacity to build relationships, navigate over 20 federal agencies and commissions, and write grants is a long-standing inequity for rural communities’ ability to tap into federal programs and dollars to ensure communities can thrive. Rural Partners Network is an opportunity to prove the concept that support for coordinating across the whole US government can change the prospects for rural prosperity.

Read more